Latest News
Print Friendly, PDF & Email



On 20 February 2023, the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) opened the nominations for outstanding individuals and organizations in the region for the ASEAN Prize 2023.  

ASEAN Prize is known as Southeast Asia’s regional premier award. It confers its annual accolade to individuals and organizations based in ASEAN as a recognition of significant contributions that aid in ASEAN Community-building.

 Now on its sixth edition, ASEAN Prize continues to celebrate persons and organizations whose determination and perseverance have progressively driven the region towards harmony and sustainable development while at the same time forging a stronger ASEAN identity.

Following the nominations, the panel of judges consisting of former Secretaries-General of ASEAN will convene to select one nominee who merits the Prize. The incumbent Secretary-General of ASEAN H.E. Kao Kim Hourn will chair the ASEAN Prize Judging Committee Meeting this year.

 As in past years, the awardee for ASEAN Prize 2023 will receive a trophy and a monetary prize of US$20,000 sponsored by Temasek Foundation of Singapore and Yayasan Hasanah of Malaysia.

Candidates who have demonstrated notable work that fulfills at least one of the following actions are strongly encouraged to submit their application:

  • Outstanding collaboration between ASEAN Member States (AMSs);
  • Outstanding collaboration between ASEAN and the world;
  • Outstanding people-to-people engagement among AMSs;
  • Outstanding economic integration and promotion of standards between AMSs; or
  • Other outstanding contributions to ASEAN Community Building.

 The call for nomination is open from 20 February to 28 April 2023. The official nomination form is to be downloaded from the ASEAN Prize website. Upon submission, valid supporting documentation to certify the nominee’s impactful contribution and achievements as well as a character reference highlighting the nominee’s suitability and eligibility for ASEAN Prize must be attached. Submitted forms should also include future plans that show how the work towards ASEAN community-building will continue if the applicant is awarded the ASEAN Prize.

Self-nominations and posthumous submissions will not be considered. ASEAN Prize has been awarded to three individuals and two organizations since it was launched in 2018. Last year, Iqbal Damit, a youth leader and community advocate from Brunei Darussalam, was awarded the ASEAN Prize 2022 for championing humanitarian ground operations for marginalized and displaced persons across and beyond the region.

 Like other ASEAN Prize recipients, Iqbal has inspired greater participation of the youth to take prominent roles in supporting a resilient ASEAN.

Please submit nominations to the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community Division of the ASEAN-Philippines National Focal Point through the following e-mail addresses:, cc:

The ASEAN Prize 2023 nomination form can be downloaded from (END).

HTML Snippets Powered By :
Disable mouse on posts and pages plugin by